Don't Let an Injury Take Over Your Life

Recovering Compensation Following a Car Accident in Florida

Almost everybody drives automobiles to get from place to place. Therefore, there is a high probability of potential accidents, especially on more frequently-traveled roads. If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident, you may be entitled to recover compensation. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What Are Some of The Main Causes of Car Accidents?

While there are several different reasons why you may have been involved in an accident, such as poor road conditions, inclement weather conditions, or a car built with a poor design, the main cause of car accidents is driver negligence. If you are able to prove that another party’s negligent behavior is at fault for the injuries you have sustained, there is a good chance you will be able to recover compensation.

What Are Some Examples of Negligent Behavior?

There are several ways in which another party may behave negligently. If you are injured as a result, you should not have to cover the costs of your medical bills, in-home care, and lost wages on your own. This is why you need to hire an experienced attorney and understand the many ways in which a driver can behave negligently in order to recover your compensation. Here are some examples of negligent behavior:

  • Drunk or drugged driving

  • Smoking

  • Eating

  • Navigating directions

  • Excessive speed

  • Drowsy driving

  • Failure to check blind spots

  • Failure to yield

  • Failure to comply with traffic signs or lights

  • Sudden land changes

  • Lane splitting

  • Using any electronic device without hands-free technology

If you find yourself having to prove your claim, you should always keep in mind that video or photographic evidence is always your best bet. This is why it may help to install some sort of a dashcam in your vehicle. If you are involved in a car accident, you may also wish to get the contact information of any witnesses who are willing to validate your claim.

What Is Personal Injury Protection?

In the state of Florida, drivers are required to carry at least $10,000 in PIP, which will help you recover 80 percent of your medical bills and 60 percent of your lost wages if you were injured in a car accident. However, if you wish to use your PIP coverage, you must obtain medical treatment within 14 days of your accident. While partial compensation may help your situation, if your PIP coverage still does not meet the expenses caused by your injuries, then you may need to hire an attorney to help you recover the compensation you deserve.

Contact a Florida Attorney

Cressman Law Firm, P.A. is committed to collecting compensation for personal injury victims in Winter Garden and the surrounding areas. If you have suffered an injury at the hands of a healthcare professional, we are here to ensure you get the compensation you deserve. Contact our firm today.