Uber/Lyft Accident Attorney in Winter Garden, Florida
Though a relatively new phenomenon, the Uber and Lyft rideshare services have taken the nation by storm, including Florida. These services are oftentimes much more affordable than traditional taxis, not to mention the increased flexibility and convenience they offer. As more people utilize Uber and Lyft, more accidents involving these rideshare programs occur. If you have been the victim of an Uber or Lyft accident, Cressman Law Firm, P.A. can help you identify the proper channels for seeking compensation. Contact our firm today to discuss your case.
After an accident
The best thing you can do to mount a successful personal injury claim against Uber, Lyft, or any other rideshare program is to document everything you can in the direct aftermath of the accident. This includes saving any communications between you and the driver, taking screenshots of any strange or questionable messages, company responses, photographing your injuries and the scene of the incident, collecting contact information and testimonials from all involved parties and witnesses, and reporting the incident to the police. That being said, do not speak directly to the driver, their insurance company, or representatives at Uber or Lyft. You should also avoid posting any mention of the accident on social media, as this may hurt your case.
If you were in the other vehicle
If you have been involved in a rideshare accident, it is equally as likely that you were a pedestrian, passenger, or driver of another vehicle when the accident took place. We represent all plaintiffs of these types of accidents and will provide the counsel and support you need to hold the right parties accountable. We will handle all of the communications between you, your insurance provider, the driver of the Uber or Lyft, and the rideshare companies.
Florida’s Uber/Lyft Law
In May 2017, Governor Scott signed the Uber/Lyft Law, which requires those who drive for ridesharing companies or “transportation network companies” to meet minimum insurance requirements. The law requires these drivers to carry at least $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, $100,000 for death and bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property insurance. The law also requires drivers to pass a background check that includes both their criminal and driving record. Ridesharing companies may not hire drivers who have been convicted of any of the following within the past five years:
- Any felony
- A misdemeanor for DUI, reckless driving, hit and run, or fleeing a police officer
- Any crimes of lewdness or indecent exposure
- A misdemeanor for sexual battery or any violent offenses
- Driving on a suspended or revoked license
Contact a Winter Garden Ridesharing Accident Attorney
If you have been involved in an accident with an Uber or Lyft driver, whether or not you were actually a passenger in the vehicle, it is important to consider your legal options. You may be entitled to damages for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more. For an experienced legal team that you can count on after an accident, contact Cressman Law Firm, P.A. today for a free initial consultation.